top of page
  • Hannah Reed

Living in Poverty

Reflection #7: Social Status

I had no idea about the diverse group of individuals that are more likely to experience poverty, especially children. An article that I read categorized 11 groups of individuals with their likelihood of poverty and some reasons why.

Most groups have significantly less opportunity and more obstacles in their way, resulting from both past and present laws, policies, and procedures. This of course has nothing to do with life kicking you down when you are already at your lowest.

I, as a college student, experienced my own money struggles but I never considered myself close to poverty. I also never really tried to get help. I think that this is something that a lot of people can relate to because they may see the struggle as only temporary.

The problem with this is that for so many people it is not temporary, but a cycle that keeps repeating itself. People that are forced to live paycheck to paycheck rarely have the same opportunities as those that have the ability to acquire wealth.

I recently took a “challenge” called spent that showed me a very clear picture of what it looks like to be a single mom, face poverty, and not have many options in this country. As a single mom I only had my income to cover everything.

I was constantly forced to choose between happiness and survival. This choice had to be made at almost every aspect, including the job I work, insurance coverage… or not, where to live, to make some extra money or support my child’s happiness, what to buy at the grocery store because I only have so much money, how to handle my car breaking down, whether or not I should converse with a union rep, the list goes on and on.

I began with only $1000 that I had to use to make it through the month, I made it to day 23 until all of my money was spent. This was a very cookie cutter example of how it must feel to be in this position. The problem is that more people are in this position not because of their own choices, but because of so many other social issues.



We as a society need to do better. People should be paid a liveable wage (not $9/hr) and not be forced to choose between eating, or having reliable transportation for work. People that work as temps should not be fired for conversing with union reps and wanting better pay. We also need to make resources more available to people in these circumstances, whether they be temporary or not.

The media also needs to do a better job of not only covering these issues but also be a vehicle for change and demonstrate ways people can get help and support, both on a local and national level. I hear more about broke college kids in the media than I do about people with families and jobs that still can’t make ends meet; this is backwards.

Everyone struggles and life can really kick you down. This is why we need to find better ways of supporting our communities and our children. I know I have had my share of so many of these issues and I did not have a child. I can only imagine what my life would look like if I didn’t get any help or support.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who is the Face of Terrorism in the US?

Reflection #9: Covering Religion, Terrorism, and Peace I recently watched the documentary “Constructing the Terrorist Threat” and learned about yet another marginalized group that the US continues to

How to Combat Poverty in Metro Detroit

Reflection #8: Resources for reporting a solutions story I found a list of resources that would be beneficial to writing a solutions journalism piece on poverty in Metro Detroit, specifically how it a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page