top of page
  • Hannah Reed

Living as a Person of Color

Reflection #2: "Under Our Skin"

I really enjoyed this experience interacting with the project “Under Our Skin” by the Seattle Times, http://projects.seattletimes.com/2016/under-our-skin/# , because I feel like the group interviewed was very diverse and reflective of the true America. After watching the first video about racism in Seattle I was very surprised. I had not considered Seattle, Washington to be a subtly racist city… honestly I don't not think much of this city at all. I have never been to Seattle nor do I plan to go any time in the future.

I clicked on the term “person of color” and really enjoyed what I saw in the video. I saw a lot of my own thoughts and opinions reflected in the people that were interviewed. People of different races, ages, and genders were all asked what the term person of color means to them as well as their cameos of how the term plays into their lives. I just found it really interesting to see people Asian-American have differing opinions on if they refer to themselves on if they are in fact a person of color or not. I also really related to many different people’s experiences about how they identify as a Black but also as a person of color (now) because it has become a term that seems to be politically correct, but also inclusive.


This project really made me reflect on my own experience as a minority woman, person of color, Black woman, etc. “Under Our Skin” also helped me gain perspective on other people from different cultures and backgrounds about their experience and how terms change in meaning. I could not help but wonder what the terms “minority”, “Black”, and “person of color” hold for the future. Will these terms one day die with the rest of the out of touch boxes and molds society continues to create for people? Stay tuned...


While I was interacting with the Seattle Times project, I also reviewed the section “About this Project” and truly admired the discussions that were held. The Seattle Times truly opened the door for society to have difficult conversations about race and what it means to different people. The journalists that worked on the project also reflected the group of people interviewed; they are a diverse staff with men, women, different age groups, and multiple races. I think that it was very important for the journalists to reflect on their experience because it is important. People need to know that the project happened because of these people’s passions, not to please a specific audience.


-Hannah Reed

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who is the Face of Terrorism in the US?

Reflection #9: Covering Religion, Terrorism, and Peace I recently watched the documentary “Constructing the Terrorist Threat” and learned about yet another marginalized group that the US continues to

How to Combat Poverty in Metro Detroit

Reflection #8: Resources for reporting a solutions story I found a list of resources that would be beneficial to writing a solutions journalism piece on poverty in Metro Detroit, specifically how it a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page